Back to top
Number of results to display per page
View results as:

Search Results


Judy Malloy papers, 1956-2010 15.6 Linear Feet — 13200 Items

Judy Malloy is a poet and an early creator of online interactive and collaborative fiction. She is a founder of the Arts Conference on the WELL, and wrote Uncle Roger, the first online hyperfiction. Collection includes documentation and materials from Malloy's publications and programs, including Uncle Roger and its name was Penelope, as well as materials from her nonfiction research, including her 2003 book, Women, Technology, and Art. Also includes exhibition files and correspondence files from Malloy's career as an artist, both from creating artists books and from her work in new media and hypertext. Correspondence files include letters, postcards, original artwork and clippings from other artists as well as electronic literature (e-lit) artists and writers.

The Judy Malloy Papers includes the personal and professional papers and materials from Judy Malloy, a groundbreaking artist, author, and poet working in electronic literature and online interactive formats.

The collection is still being acquired, with new additions being regularly added to this finding aid. Please consult Research Services with questions about this material.

Malloy's Printed Materials series includes both books and journal publications, with content both by and about Malloy, as well as some of her own reference material. Many books feature a chapter or contribution by Malloy, discussing or explaining her experimentation with online narratives and electronic fiction. Other articles discuss and reference her early contributions, including Uncle Roger and its name was Penelope. Some material relates to computer programming and early Internet research material. Finally, this series contains a cluster of books used by Malloy in her research for various publications. These are grouped at the end of the series.

The Notebooks series includes Malloy's notes and drafts for her various writing projects, including Uncle Roger, its name was Penelope, and Brown House Kitchen. These notebooks reveal the changes each work underwent as it was edited and outlined.

The Early Artists Books series consists largely of notes and photocopies of some of Malloy's early books, as well as a folder with color slides of a selection of her art.

Malloy's Writings and Programming series is largely focused on her new media work, with large amounts of material from her creation and publication of Uncle Roger, the first electronic hyperfiction. These files include her original work, as told on the Art Com Electronic Network (ACEN), as well as later versions and program printouts. Similar documentation is available for its name was Penelope, originally exhibited by Malloy in 1988-1989 and eventually published by Narrabase Press in 1990 and Eastgate in 1993. This subseries also includes an artist book for Penelope. Smaller amounts of materials exist for Malloy's other e-literature and programs, including You!, Brown House Kitchen, Molasses, Forward Anywhere, Wasting Time, Thirty Minutes in the Late Afternoon, Dorothy Abrona McCrae, and Paths of Memory and Painting, among others. There is also a small amount of material relating to Malloy's printed works, including Women, Art & Technology, as well as early children's literature.

The Exhibitions series includes documentation and materials from Malloy's installations and exhibitions of her artists books as well as exhibitions of her new media and electronic fiction. These have been divided thusly in the Detailed Description, and subsequently arranged chronologically. Materials include postcards, plans, correspondence, news clippings and press coverage, contracts, and other materials relating to the exhibit.

Talks and Readings is a small series with materials from various speaking engagements. The most significant was Malloy's participation in the Telluride Ideas Festival in 1993.

The Correspondence series includes much more than correspondence, and is in fact more of a name file of Malloy's relationships throughout the artist and e-lit communities. Her general correspondence includes letters from her childhood and college travels, as well as some miscellaneous files of correspondence with various curators and others regarding her exhibitions. The bulk of the series, however, consists of Malloy's artist correspondence and Art Com Electronic Network correspondence. These files include letters, postcards, prints, news clippings and press coverage, and occasional pieces of original art sent to Malloy throughout the 1970s and 1980s. The ACEN artist files include email and letters, some exhibition documentation, and some software-related documentation that overlaps with the Media by Other Artists series. The Correspondence series is grouped by General, Artists, and ACEN Artists, and subsequently sorted alphabetically.

The Media by Other Artists series includes software and accompanying documentation by several ACEN artists, many of whom included inscriptions or autographs for Malloy, as well as other new media. Finally, the Personal Materials series includes a subseries of personal photographs and slides, information on Malloy's family, and memorabilia including calendars and documents.

RESTRICTIONS: It should be noted that while this collection includes electronic media, these disks have been separated from the manuscript material in order to be migrated to Duke's Electronic Server for preservation. If you are interested in accessing this material, contact Research Services in advance.