Back to top

Search Constraints

Start Over You searched for: Names Nexus Press Remove constraint Names: Nexus Press

Search Results

collection icon

Clarissa Sligh papers, 1950-2010 70 Linear Feet — 51307 Items

Artist and author of works such as Wrongly Bodied, Reading Dick and Jane with Me, What's Happening With Momma? Jake in Transition, and It Wasn't Little Rock. Collection includes materials relating to Sligh's career as an artist, with particular focus on her various projects and exhibitions in the 1980s, 1990s, and early 2000s. Projects represented include Jake In Transition/Wrongly Bodied, Witness to Dissent/It Wasn't Little Rock, Coast to Coast, Sandy Ground, Malcolm X: Man, Ideal, Icon, What's Happening With Momma? and an NC Reunion/Slavery project, along with several others. Sligh's files frequently include correspondence, research materials, drafts of essays and exhibition plans, clippings and other source materials, contact sheets and slides, and occasionally exhibit pieces and texts from the actual installation. Other items included in the collection are exhibition binders and scrapbooks kept by Sligh to document her career; correspondence and communication between Sligh and other artists, galleries, or publishers; catalogs and publicity materials from Sligh's many exhibitions, shows, and publications, artists' books, materials documenting Sligh's art and process, large framed photographic prints; and other materials. Acquired as part of the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture.

The Clarissa Sligh Papers have been divided into 8 series: Binders and Catalogs, Projects, Correspondence, Journals and Notepads, Photographs, and Artists' Book Dummies and Drafts, Jake in Transition, and Accession 2013-0149.

The Binders and Catalogs series includes a selection of exhibition binders, kept and collected by Sligh as a record of her various projects, events, and exhibits. Also includes press clippings, museum catalogs, and other programming materials. Items have been removed from their original binders.

The Projects series includes files from many of Sligh's art and research projects, relating to a variety of topics such as slavery, civil rights, genealogy, gender studies, and African American history. A "project" may include materials from an installation, artist book, exhibit, or all of these formats. Sligh's work frequently evolved over time and expanded in scope and format. This series also includes files from Sligh's exhibitions and publications. Major projects documented include: NC Reunion and Slavery Project, a film related to the Artists' Call Against U.S. Intervention in Central America, Jake in Transition/Wrongly Bodied, Coast to Coast, Witness to Dissent, Sandy Ground, and Malcolm X: Man, Ideal, Icon.

The Correspondence Series contains three subseries of correspondence: the first has been sorted in loose chronological order according to Sligh's own folder arrangements; the second contains Sligh's self-designated "to do," "answered," "unanswered," and other unsorted correspondence; the third has files that are arranged alphabetically by subject or correspondent's name.

The Journals and Notepads Series includes a set of legal notepads kept by Sligh during the late 1990s. Many entries related to her work on Jake in Transition, but the journals also include Sligh's discussions and reflections on other projects and artwork.

The Photographs Series includes images of artwork and installations by Sligh, portraits of Sligh, and portraits and snapshots of family and friends.

The Artists Books Dummies and Drafts Series includes mockups and drafts from the production of Wrongly Bodied; It Wasn't Little Rock; Malcolm X; Reading Dick and Jane with Me (including "Play with Jane" print); What's Happening with Momma? and alternate version of this book called Girlchild; Hiroshima, Hopes and Dreams; and Voyage(r): Tourist Map to Japan.

The Jake in Transition series consists of photographic prints.

Accession 2012-0149 is an addition consisting of Sligh's documentation of her work and process, photographs and negatives, large screen prints, and political posters.

collection icon

Kay Leigh Hagan papers, 1955-2012 27 Linear Feet — 21,375 items

Kay Leigh Hagan is a writer, teacher, and feminist. Much of her early career focused on raising women's consciousness by teaching how to recognize various forms of internalized oppression in private classes she called "Feminars". In addition to her writing and teaching, this collection documents Hagan's many public speaking appearances and workshops, including those at womyn's music festivals (1988-2000). Her published works include Fugitive Information: Essays from a Feminist Hothead (1993), Internal Affairs: A Journal Keeping Workbook for Self-Intimacy (1990), Prayers to the Moon: Exercises in Self-Reflection (1991), and Vow: The Way of the Milagro (2003) with photographer Richard Downing. She was also the editor of Women Respond to the Men's Movement: A Feminist Collection (1992), and co-author of A Peculiar Alchemy (2007), a centennial history of the School for Advanced Research, with Nancy Owen Lewis. She has been active in Atlanta, Georgia, where she was affiliated with Forrest Avenue Consortium (later Nexus Contemporary Art Center) and Charis Books & More; and Santa Fe, New Mexico, where she worked with Los Alamos National Laboratory and the School for Advanced Research, among other organizations.

Collection consists of art objects, artists' books, video recordings, audio recordings, research files, drafts of published works, writings, journals and correspondence, materials documenting Hagan's political activism and private teaching, materials documenting her work with the School for Advanced Research, and graphic materials.

Collection was acquired as part of the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture.